Shopify orders can be synced to Katana automatically. If you choose in the integration configuration, also order changes (adjust the quantity, refund, cancel, delete, archive) done in Shopify can be synced to Katana.
Changes synced from Shopify to Katana sales orders may also impact Katana manufacturing orders.
The changes synced to the sales orders are applied to manufacturing orders only in case the manufacturing orders are made to order ("Make to order"; MTO). In case the manufacturing order is making to stock ("Make to stock"; MTS) the change to sales order is not applied to the manufacturing order.
How changes for the sales order impact manufacturing orders
1. Manufacturing order type: Make to stock (MTS)
Sales order (SO) change has no impact on the manufacturing order (MO).
2. Manufacturing order type: Make to order (MTO)
MO status: Not started
SO quantity changed: MO quantity changed accordingly.
SO deleted: MO deleted accordingly.
MO status: Blocked, Work in progress, Done
SO quantity changed: MO is converted to MTS. The link between MO and SO is terminated.
SO deleted: MO is converted to MTS. The link between MO and SO is terminated.
In case the MO is converted to MTS, the user is notified about the change in the Schedule on the Make screen and in the MO detail view.
Notifications in Schedule on the Make screen
You can easily identify the manufacturing orders that have been unlinked from sales orders as a result of Shopify order changes. You can make a decision whether to continue the production for the items, change, or delete the MO. In the Schedule on the Make screen, MO-s that have been unlinked from the corresponding sales order are marked with an indicator (amber circle in front of a MO #):
Hovering the indicator will display the reason for MO unlink:
1. In case the related SO has been deleted:
2. In case the related SO quantity has been changed:
Impacted MO-s can be filtered for user's convenience (click on the triangle with an exclamation mark in the order # header).
To clear the filter click on the filter icon again and choose "Clear this filter":
MO detailed view
In MO detailed view the message is displayed to the user - message and the actions that can be taken depend on whether the sales order line has been deleted or changed.
If the sales order line item quantity has been changed user can update the MO quantity to the changed order quantity and re-establish the link with the corresponding SO - the MO will be changed back to MTO type. Alternatively, user can choose not to update the MO - in such case, the link between the SO and MO is not re-established and the MO remains as MTS (Make to Stock).
If the sales order item line has been deleted, a corresponding message is displayed. Users can acknowledge the change by closing the message.
Upon user has taken the needed actions in MO detailed view and cleared the message on top of the view, the indicator in the Schedule on the Make screen is cleared as well.
In the bottom part of the MO detailed view, the unlinking messages are displayed permanently. Should the order be updated multiple times, there will be multiple messages stored.